Tommy Tippetts a Kirdford Hero

I had the great honor to meet Tommy Tippetts at the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Celebrations this week, in fact it was one of the highlights of my weekend, he even gave me a thank you note and photograph, for the Tweets etc. that I had posted – I was truly humbled.

This young man set out from La Gomera in January, rowed single handedly, across the Atlantic, which took him  82 days, 8 hours and 40 minutes, landing in Port St Charles, Barbados.

To my mind this achievement is truly epic, not only the physical strength that is needed to row across the Atlantic, but the mental and emotional perseverance to be on your own for four months in a floating box.

It has been confirmed by the Ocean Rowing society, that Tommy’s row did qualify as the youngest male to row any ocean solo, so I asked him what he was going to do next…

“I’m hoping to join the Marines” was his reply – I can’t think of a better calling for such a talented and dedicated young man.

It is superb that we have Tommy as a member of our Village.

If you want to read more about his adventure you can read his Blog.

Leave a Reply

